About Kuwait

Kuwait City

An Arab country on the Arabian Gulf, has cultural heritage dating back to antiquity.  Kuwait is a constitutional emirate with a high income economy backed by the world’s sixth largest oil reserves.  The Kuwaiti dinar is the highest valued currency in the world.  Its constitution was promulgated in 1962 making Kuwait the most politically progressive country in the region.  Home to the National Museum, Dar Al Athar Al Islamiya, and Tareq Rajab Museum their collections of ethnographic artifacts and Islamic arts are unrivaled.

Capital:                          Kuwait City
Independence Day:    February 25th, 1961
Liberation Day:           February 26th, 1991
Religion:                        Islam
Language:                     Arabic is the official language; however English generally used.
Population:                  4,187,161 (2015 estimate)
Currency:                      Kuwaiti dinar (KWD)
Time zone:                    AST (UTC+3)    Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)
Drives on the:             Right Side
Calling code:               +965
Emergency Hotline:  112

Kuwait is divided into six governorates which are further subdivided into areas:

  • Kuwait City – Al Asimah Governorate (Capital).
  • Hawalli Governorate.
  • Farwaniya Governorate.
  • Mubarak Al-Kabeer Governorate.
  • Ahmadi Governorate.
  • Jahra Governorate.

Government Unitary Constitutional Monarchy:

  • Emir Sabah Ahmad al-Sabah.
  • Crown Prince Nawaf Ahmad al-Sabah.
  • Speaker of the National Assembly  Marzouq Ali al-Ghanim.
  • Prime Minister Jaber Mubarak al-Sabah.background image